2023 WRITING COMPETITION ... Closing Soon ... Details here
Skip to content

2023 Winners

2023 Open Literary Competition Winners

PORT WRITERS are delighted to announce the winners of this year’s competition. It was again a very strong field of entrants. Congratulations to all.

congrats to winners

First Prize
‘About Time’ – Zena Shapter, Allambie Heights NSW
Second Prize
‘A Classic Method of Defence’ – R. I. Quin, Miles QLD
Hastings Award (Frank Urban 2023 Prize for Local Writers)
‘Behind Enemy Lines’ – Janice McLachlan – Upper Rowland Plains NSW

First Prize
‘A House Guest – and A Vintage Chair’ – Shoshanna Rockman, Elsternwick VIC
Second Prize
‘Going Home’ – Helen Hutton, Brookland Park SA
Hastings Award (Frank Urban 2023 Prize for Local Writers )
‘Philosophising Grief’ – Kerry Buchanan, Port Macquarie, NSW

CONGRATULATIONS to the winners and indeed to all who entered. It’s a brave step to put your work before the eyes of others – well done! 

THANKS to the Judges for their contributions and especially to the late Frank Urban for donating the Hastings Prize for local writers this year.

We look forward to your entries in 2024 – in the meantime, practice and keep an eye out from July.

Note: In accordance with our Terms and Conditions of Entry, only winners are notified of the outcome of their entry. If your name isn’t listed above, we look forward to you submitting again next time.